2019 Wealth Professional Awards winners announced


WP is delighted to announce the winners of the 2019 Wealth Professional Awards after a glittering ceremony at Liberty Grand in Toronto last night.

The full list of winners from the fifth annual event, which was the biggest since its inception, can be found here or at the bottom of this story.

Hundreds of standout industry professional attended the event to recognise their peers and celebrate their achievements over the past 12 months.

Highlights included Alexandra Horwood, of Alexandra Horwood & Partners (Richardson GMP), picking up the Mandeville Private Client Inc. Award for Canadian Advisor of the Year and Jackie Porter, Carte Wealth Management Inc, being rewarded with the Mackenzie Investments Award for Female Trailblazer of the Year.

Horwood told WP that the wealth business is her calling. "It is so important to me. It is the most important, wonderful industry in the world, and I am so proud. I work so hard, have an amazing team, wonderful clients, and am absolutely elated by this award; it means the world to me.

“My clients are everything in this business. I will fall on the sword for them and do anything to defend them and I always have their best interest at heart. I make engaging my team a centrefold to my practice and I work really, really hard and I think that is one of the reasons I have been successful.”

Charlie Spiring, from Wellington-Altus Private Wealth, received the Invesco Canada Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Industry, in recognition of his stellar career.

Wealth Professional Awards project director Jessica Duce said: “Wealth professionals are absolutely paramount to the overall success of the industry, and it’s wonderful to see their hard work and innovative ideas rewarded on such a special night.

“Congratulations to all the finalists and winners who are all a reflection of the very high standard of business excellence and leadership. It’s fantastic to see how excited the winners are when they receive this career-defining award.

“The energy in the room is always phenomenal with hundreds of advisors, financial planners, fund providers and wealth professionals from across the country making long-lasting connections.”

And the winners are ...

The AGF Award for Engagement, Loyalty & Client Care
The McClelland Financial Group (Assante Capital Management)

BDM/Wholesaler of the Year Nathan Amor, Sun Life Global Investments

The TMX Group Award for Best Active Manager – Exchange-Traded Derivatives
Avin Mehra, Mehra Wealth Management (CIBC Wood Gundy)

Excellence in Philanthropy & Community Service
Sonia LeRoy, LeRoy Wealth Management Group (IPC Securities)

The First Trust Award for Young Gun of the Year
Emily Ben-Haim, Gluskin Sheff & Associates

The CI Investments Award for Advisory Team of the Year (Fewer than 10 Staff)

Kaspardlov & Associates (Manulife Securities)

The Blackrock Award for Portfolio/Discretionary Manager of the Year
Colin Ryan, Colin Ryan Wealth Management Group (BMO Nesbitt Burns)

The Sun Life Global Investments Award for Global Advisor of the Year
Francis Sabourin, Richardson GMP

ETF Champion of the Year
Mary Hagerman, Desjardins Wealth Management

Digital Innovator of the Year
Tetrault Wealth Advisory Group (Canaccord Genuity Wealth Management)

The ICM Asset Management Award for Advisor of the Year – Alternative Investments
Arthur C. Salzer, Northland Wealth Management

The Nour Private Wealth Award for Rising Star Advisor of the Year
Sajjad Hussain, Allen Private Wealth Group (HollisWealth)

The NEI Investments Award for Advisor of the Year – Responsible Investments
Michael Silicz, The Silicz Birdsall Advisory Group (National Bank Financial)

The Invesco Canada Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Industry
Charlie Spiring, Wellington-Altus Private Wealth

The WP Magazine Readers' Choice Award for Advertising Campaign of the Year
Dynamic Funds - "ACTIVE ALTERNATIVES Campaign”

The Radius Financial Education Award for Industry Service Provider of the Year

The Equisoft Award for Fund Provider of the Year
Mackenzie Investments

The Equitable Bank Award For Multi-Office Advisor Network / Brokerage of the Year
iA Securities (iA Financial Group)

Employer of Choice
Canoe Financial

The Mackenzie Investments Award for Female Trailblazer of the Year
Jackie Porter, Carte Wealth Management Inc.

The Mandeville Private Client Inc. Award for Canadian Advisor of the Year
Alexandra Horwood, Alexandra Horwood & Partners (Richardson GMP)

The Franklin Templeton Investments Award for Advisory Team of the Year (10 Staff or More)
Hemmett Anseeuw Team (Harbourfront Wealth Management)

The CI Investments Award for Multi-Service Advisory Team of the Year
Luft Financial (HollisWealth)

The IFSE Institute Award for Financial Literacy Champion
Elizabeth Naumovski, Caldwell Securities

CEO of the Year
Karen Adams, Fundserv

Special thanks to our sponsors

  • WPA-Partners-WPA.png
  • WPA-Partners-TMX.png
  • WPA-Partners-Franklin-Templeton.png
  • WPA-Partners-Advocis.png
  • WPA-Partners-BlackRock.png
  • WPA-Partners-Nour.png
  • WPA-Partners-IMC.png
  • WPA-Partners-Centurion.png
  • WPA-Partners-KMI.png
  • WPA-Partners-Equitable-Bank.png
  • WPA-Partners-Mandeville.png
  • WPA-Partners-Equisoft.png
  • WPA-Partners-CWB.png
  • WPA-Partners-IFSE.png
  • WPA-Partners-Edward-Jones.png
  • WPA-Partners-AGF.png
  • WPA-Partners-SIA-Chards.png
  • WPA-Partners-Harbourfront.png
  • WPA-Partners-Mackenzie.png
  • WPA-Partners-Cetfa.png
  • WPA-Partners-Invesco.png

Stay Up to Date

Be sure to receive all updates about the Wealth Professional Awards as they happen, by signing up to our mailing list.

No spam, and unsubscribe anytime.

Copyright © 2020 Wealth Professional Awards